Don’t Gimme No Lip

One of the major surprises on 2003’s Lost Dogs was the uncovering of a second No Code-era track written and sung by Stone Gossard. “Don’t Gimme No Lip” managed to evade rumors and leaks for a solid seven years, but there’s probably a good reason for that. Despite a pretty satisfying crunch, the song offers very little other than its novelty, making it a wise choice to give “Mankind” album status instead. The repetition of the title gets old quick, but even that is preferable to short couplets like “Don’t gimme no lip / I’ve got no taste for it”. Still, it’s always a joy to have Stone step up to the mic in concert, make a few sly, self-deprecating comments, and launch into even this slight little pop punk tune.

~ by Michael on October 12, 2007.

4 Responses to “Don’t Gimme No Lip”

  1. It’s better live. But the one thing about it that just never clicks for me is that the entire song is basically Stone making threats. He’s not exactly Mr. Tough Guy. Something about the chorus works in a hilariously ironic over-the-top way, but those bridge parts are pretty cringeworthy.

    I’m curious what you think of “Sunburn,” c-13. It seems that was yet another Stone-sung No Code track (vastly superior to either this or “Mankind,” but wouldn’t have had a place on the record) that managed to evade rumors until it leaked, leaving me to wonder how much Stone-sung material is lying around in the vaults.

  2. I’ve listened to “Sunburn” a few times, but not enough to have much to say about it yet. I know that I liked it. I’ve also heard that it was actually a Bayleaf outtake, not Pearl Jam one. I’m not sure which it is.

  3. It sounds a lot more like a Bayleaf outtake; I don’t know where I read it was from the No Code sessions.

    Someone said it sounded like a John Lennon track. I agreed with that.

  4. Which leads me to…

Leave a Reply

 
