Goat

Before Pearl Jam, there was Mookie Blaylock. And before bugs, whales, lost dogs, and the sheep on the cover of Vs., there was “Goat”. What divine inspiration led the nascent band to hit the “record” button on this unreleased gem? Ah, well, okay–“Goat” is an in-joke demo among Pearl Jam’s earliest demo recordings in 1990 (which included the equally rare Gladys Knight & the Pips cover “Daddy Could Swear, I Declare”). No one seems to know more about it than that, except that the line “She was an evil little goat goat goat” can lodge its sinister self into one’s brains a little too easily for comfort, goat goat goat. My favorite thing about the song however, is rhyming “Scandinavia” with “Dangerous”. Exquisite. Oh, and whoever’s doing the goat imitation. Goat goat goat.

~ by Michael on May 9, 2007.

7 Responses to “Goat”

  1. That would be McCready doing the goat impression. Mike is supposedly good at making animal noises, which is probably the reason this song was even conceived in the first place.

    I am not confirming this to be true, but I heard that “Daddy Could Swear” was later thought to be an Ed solo demo, rather than a pj demo.

  2. Hard to know. I’ve been trying to find any information possible. Where’d you hear about McCready’s goat impression?

  3. A really interesting choice on your part for an early review, C13. You do this one justice, not an easy thing to do. If you don’t mind my asking, how are you deciding on the order of your reviews? Mood? Tarot Cards? Drawing out of a hat?

  4. I don’t mind at all. I’m trying to keep everything fairly balanced. I don’t want to do three or four songs from any one particular album (or non-album), until everything’s been represented. At the same time, I don’t want to go through everything in the same order. Another consideration is to mix in the more popular material with more underrated tracks, although I’ve been mostly shy about covering the real biggies as of yet. I also don’t want to go through all of my favorites right away.

    So, yes, out of a hat.

  5. C13, I am not sure where I heard about McCready and the goat noises, but I know it is true. I have read A LOT of pj articles and certain things stick in my head.

  6. It reminds of Nirvana’s sound this one

  7. Wasn’t the thing about McCready being the master of animal sounds on the sleeve of Temple of the Dog, in Jeff’s little handwritten bit?

Leave a Reply

 
